dawn

Dawn. Sunrise. A caricature of golden light emerging on the horizon. A new beginning.

I’ve been told that starting something is often the hardest part of actually doing it. Time and time again, I have found myself overwhelmed with ideas, but submerged with the terrifying prospect and question of where to begin. Writing, to me, is a beautiful thing; one of my deepest passions. I would go as far as to say that I write to live. It is such an essential part of my being, that I honestly could not imagine my life without it. Yet, for a majority of my life, I have very rarely shared any of my works beyond the small circle of my friend group, and even that process has been highly selective. The thought of actually posting my works online is nothing sort of slightly petrifying, but I have decided that in order to improve as a writer, as well as to help discipline myself into working harder and refining my pieces, a blog would be a good way to go. It’s a risk, I admit, for someone who frequently struggles to stay focused, and work on things in the long term. However, I believe mindset can be one’s biggest strength, and I want this to be a cause of growth and maturity for me as a writer. In the words of William H. Gass, “The true alchemists do not change lead into gold; they change the world into words”. I aspire to do that, however daunting the task.

Wish me luck

-A

x

5 thoughts on “dawn

Leave a Reply

